Browsing: fiction

Uncategorized

The Beautiful One Has Come by Suzanne Kamata

Review by Rachael Nevins – In the dozen stories in The Beautiful One Has Come, Suzanne Kamata explores the myriad ways in which we meet the unknown, whether it be an unfamiliar culture or an unexpected role. An expatriate living…

Book Reviews

Dogs Have Angels Too by Sarah Cavallaro

Review by Sandra Ramos O’Briant  – “Histories are more full of examples of the fidelity of dogs than of friends.” -Alexander Pope Sarah Cavallaro’s Dogs Have Angels Too could be renamed “Leader of the Pack or How I Lost Everything,…

Fiction

Mother Noise by Emily R. Blumenfeld

The thought of dragging herself and her baby to the store rubbed against her nerves all morning. But the leaking faucet in the kitchen sink made the trip to the giant box a necessity today. And the longer she put…

Book Reviews

Beautiful Soon Enough by Margo Berdeshevsky

Editor’s Pick by Marjorie Tesser – Perfect for fans of Anais Nin and Marguerite Duras, Margo Berdeshevsky’s collection of short stories Beautiful Soon Enough (Fiction Collective 2; 2009; Winner of Fiction Collective Two’s American Book Review/Ronald Sukenick Innovative Fiction Prize)…

Fiction

Alright, Mama by Gwendolyn Joyce Mintz

Mama needed a ride home from work so I went for her. As I was pulling out of the lot behind the grocery store where she was a clerk in the deli, I said, “We gotta stop somewhere; Ray wants…

1 6 7 8