Browsing: fiction

Book Reviews

Review by Ivy Rutledge – Nina Schuyler’s novel, The Translator, will pull you along Hanne Schubert’s journey through the shifting landscapes of her life, both literal and figurative. From her apartment in San Francisco across the ocean to Japan and…

Uncategorized

Review by Dallas Woodburn – It is safe to say I have never before read a book quite like Margo Berdeshevsky’s Beautiful Soon Enough, winner of the American Book Review/Ronald Sukenick Innovative Fiction Prize. During the first few pages of…

Book Reviews

Review by Suzanne Kamata – What a voice! With her dark sense of humor and her lively, inventive prose, Kirstin Scott, author of the award-winning Motherlunge, can make even the most mundane aspects of suburban life – recycling, for instance…

Uncategorized

Review by Rachael Nevins – In the dozen stories in The Beautiful One Has Come, Suzanne Kamata explores the myriad ways in which we meet the unknown, whether it be an unfamiliar culture or an unexpected role. An expatriate living…

Book Reviews

Review by Sandra Ramos O’Briant  – “Histories are more full of examples of the fidelity of dogs than of friends.” -Alexander Pope Sarah Cavallaro’s Dogs Have Angels Too could be renamed “Leader of the Pack or How I Lost Everything,…

Fiction

The thought of dragging herself and her baby to the store rubbed against her nerves all morning. But the leaking faucet in the kitchen sink made the trip to the giant box a necessity today. And the longer she put…

Book Reviews

Editor’s Pick by Marjorie Tesser – Perfect for fans of Anais Nin and Marguerite Duras, Margo Berdeshevsky’s collection of short stories Beautiful Soon Enough (Fiction Collective 2; 2009; Winner of Fiction Collective Two’s American Book Review/Ronald Sukenick Innovative Fiction Prize)…

Fiction

Mama needed a ride home from work so I went for her. As I was pulling out of the lot behind the grocery store where she was a clerk in the deli, I said, “We gotta stop somewhere; Ray wants…

1 5 6 7