Yearly Archives: 2011

Poetry

Like the memory deepest hidden, it drives you The you you can’t put down make sleep smother under logic The pilot light inside burning away the shapes and masks that sell you this story– a spinning web of deja vus…

Poetry

transfer, held damply in her hand, the snow melting where her cap (nearly) met her coat, her scarf left where (behind), shed like the skin of a snake, useless as an escape tool, however jauntily it was wrapped, the pantone…

Poetry

Hearing your heart beat Quick, definite, determined Inside of me The first time I knew instantly That you would be My moon child, My daughter For your room I bought A fairy Lounging on a Crescent moon You came At…

Gallery

Excerpts from a photo essay by Hester Jones, “CALL YOURSELF A MOTHER.” View more photographs of this essay and more of Hester’s other work at www.hesterjones.com. Hester Jones is a British artist, based in London. She graduated from MA Photography,…

Poetry

Between Greenwich and Cambridge, Cambridge to Arlington The brightly lit hills rise. Reds and yellows smart the eyes. She’s bored but tuned in, marking time with teen divas Even behind my sunglasses, the color rends. There are fields still as…

Prose

There are moments in life where we hit a new level of independence and experience growth so significant that it changes our reality. I had one last night that was so strong it reminded me of leaving adolescence. My husband…

Fiction

The thought of dragging herself and her baby to the store rubbed against her nerves all morning. But the leaking faucet in the kitchen sink made the trip to the giant box a necessity today. And the longer she put…

Selections

Selections The Mom Egg Vol. 9 2011 Get the Issue Sandra de Helen MISSPENT MOTHERHOOD i squandered my motherhood mistaking it for my youth believing that because i was sixteen or twenty or thirty i was entitled…

Book Reviews

Editor’s Pick by Marjorie Tesser – Perfect for fans of Anais Nin and Marguerite Duras, Margo Berdeshevsky’s collection of short stories Beautiful Soon Enough (Fiction Collective 2; 2009; Winner of Fiction Collective Two’s American Book Review/Ronald Sukenick Innovative Fiction Prize)…

1 2 3 4